Cookies settings:

  • Strictly necessary cookies: Allowed
  • Advertising cookies: Not used on this website
  • Tracking cookies: Set according to user preference

We'll also set a temporary cookie to hide this notice.

Cookie preference:


Penistone Camera Club was established in 1967 by a group of people passionate about photography. One of the founder members Joe Windle enjoyed capturing the local area and landscape. Joe’s legacy lives on in the club with a trophy dedicated to him.

We meet most Wednesday evenings at 7:30pm until about 9:30pm. Check out our calendar to see our programme.

St John's Community Centre, Penistone.

Limited free parking is available depending upon what else is running in the community centre, it can get quite busy. Other parking is available on local roads.

Since those early beginnings the club has seen many changes in photography from medium format & 35mm mechanical film cameras that produced prints in a dark room with chemicals, to the all electronic cameras with a small SD card we have now, producing prints from a printer.

Over the years club has gone from strength to strength, with an ever growing membership. We pride ourselves on being a friendly club helping each other to improve our photography. Whatever level you are or what type of photography interests you, we have a wide range of knowledge within the club.

Subjects covered are Landscape, Portrait (we have our own studio lights & backdrop), Architecture & Record, Macro or Natural History. Also we delve into post production of images using Adobe Photoshop & Lightroom.

The programme of activities includes Guest Speakers, who give talks on a variety of subjects, outings to places of interest, practical evenings as well as Club and inter-club competitions.

The club is operated by an Executive Committee which is supported by an Organising Committee. The Executive Committee comprises of:- Chairman, Paul Cartwright – Secretary, Julie Ellis – Treasurer and Vice Chairman, Andrew. Members of the Executive Committee can be contacted by the the links.

New members are made very welcome and we offer you the opportunity to come and meet us and share in club activities for 4 weeks free. This allows you to gain an insight into what we do and to get to know us & after which you can join the club, We charge an annual subscription which is currently £50 per year (new members are charged pro-rata), also there is a nominal weekly charge of £1 which covers refreshments and is only paid when you attend a meeting.

Therefore if you’re Interested in developing your photography? Why not come along and join us remember the first 4 weeks are free so you have nothing to lose but plenty to gain.

Meetings are held weekly during the season at St Johns Community Centre but most weeks we also operate a Zoom facility for at least part of the night to allow for remote access for those that need it.

POTY Winners

(Photographer Of The Year)
  • 2022/23 - Ian Spooner
  • 2021/22 - Clive Bott
  • 2020/21 - No Competition Due to Pandemic
  • 2019/20 - Peter Mudd
  • 2018/19 - Clive Bott
  • 2017/18 - Wendy North
  • 2016/17 - Wendy North
  • 2015/16 - Peter Mudd
  • 2014 - Peter Mudd
  • 2013 - Nick Hillman
  • 2012 - David White
  • 2011 - Craig Mansell
  • 2010 - Mike Breedon
  • 2009 - David Hickey
  • 2008 - David Hickey
  • 2007 - Judi Pennock
  • 2006 - Sheila Davis
  • 2005 - Peter Mudd
  • 2004 - Peter Mudd
  • 2003 - Peter Mudd
  • 2002 - Peter Mudd
  • 2001 - Malcolm Roebuck
  • 2000 - Paul Cartwright

Endeavour POTY Winners

(Photographer Of The Year)
  • 2022/23 - Hazel Ainsworth
  • 2021/22 - Richard Yarrow
  • 2020/21 - No Competition due to Pandemic
  • 2019/20 - Adrian James
  • 2018/19 - Sue Pitstock
  • 2017/18 - Mark Slater
  • 2016/17 - Ian Wilkinson
  • 2015/16 - Clive Bott
  • 2014 - Ken Thompson
  • 2013 - Nick Hillman
  • 2012 - Wendy North
  • 2011 - Criag Mansell
  • 2010 - David White
  • 2009 - Usman Jawad
  • 2008 - Ian Moody
  • 2007 - David Hickey
  • 2006 - Sheila Davis
  • 2005 - Ray Podgson
  • 2004 - Steve Sampson
  • 2003 - Trevor Powis
  • 2002 - Joanne Davis
  • 2001 - Mark Fernridge
  • 2000 - Peter Mudd

Who's who

Find out who's who and a bit about our club members

Who's Who?

What's on

Find out more about our program and events

what's on